Kigezi Districts Petitions FUFA over Administrative Units

1246 Views Kabale, Western Region, Uganda
Soccer administrators in districts that form Kigezi have petitioned the Federation of Uganda Football Association -FUFA, to secede from Zone Six in soccer matters. According to the 2005 Fufa constitution, a zone is regarded as the second biggest administrative unit after a region that encompasses several districts for easy monitoring. Chris Kalibbala, the Chairman of Western region says the petition is genuine, because its difficult to monitor big administrative units. Kalibbala explains that the region has three zones with more than three districts each. Zone five his comprised of Kibale, Hoima, Masindi, Buliisa, while Zone Six has Kabale, Kisoro, Kanungu, Rukungiri, Ntungamo, Mbarara, Isingiro, Ibanda, Kiruhura while Zone Eleven has Kabarole, Kasese, Kamwenge, Kyenjojo, Bushenyi and Bundibugyo. //Cue in: The districts are now close # Cue out: #within a week.// Currently all districts have to take licenses of players to their Zones for signing which is costly for clubs. Kalibbala says taking a zone to Kigezi will reduce the districts to five and it's easy for club officials to move to Kabale and get services than Mbarara. Richman Mugisha, the coach of Mountain Gorilla FC says moving the offices closer, will help more clubs to participate in Fufa run programmes as it will minimize costs.


Tagged with: fufa